COVID-19 updates & resources. Learn more.

Willowdale

Ward 18

Stafford Park
100 Stafford Road
A 1.7 hectare park near Bathurst Street and Finch Avenue West with pathways that lead to a children’s playground and open green space.

York Cottage
Hounslow Avenue and Horsham Avenue
York Cottage was a building that was previously on this site. It was originally constructed in 1850 to house the Johnson Family. The house later became a rural cottage for the Red Cross, and then offices for the Children’s Aid Society. The building was demolished in 1993. The stone gates of the cottage remain at the eastern end of Hounslow Avenue. A plaque commemorates the gates and the former cottage.

Sophie Berg Art Box
Beecroft Road & Churchill Avenue
The box showcases observational sketches of Torontonians from all over the city. It represents a true cross-section of Toronto, illustrating its diverse population. When citizens and visitors view the design, they are reminded that Toronto is a home for everyone, and feel welcome and appreciated.

Dempsey Store & Park
250 Beecroft Road
The Dempsey Store originally stood on the northwest corner of Yonge Street and Sheppard Avenue. It was built in 1860 by Joseph Shepard II, son of Joseph Shepard who was one of the earliest settlers of York in the 1790s. Joseph Shepard II operated a store that housed the local post office until 1888. It was the first general store in the area. Benjamin Brown purchased the building in 1904 and it was known as Brown’s Store until 1921.

In the early 1920s, it was sold to George and William Dempsey and came to be known as the Dempsey Brothers Hardware Store. It was a very familiar North York landmark. The store was relocated to this present location in 1996 and is now home to the Shining Through Centre, which provides services to children with autism and their families.

Along Dempsey Park, several pieces of art are installed along the park’s pathways. This installation is called Timetrack and it reminds visitors of the site’s past as part of the Gibson family farm. Created by Millie Chen and Warren Quigley, the bronze cast artwork appears at irregular intervals on the park’s pathways and shows symbols of the site from the past. For more information, look for the plaque within the park.

Gibson House Museum & Gibson Park
5172 Yonge Street
Explore Gibson House Museum, an elegant farmhouse from 1851 owned by the Gibson family. Tours of the museum unravel the history of the land and the heroes, rebels, reformers and storytellers who called Willowdale home, from the 1830s all the way to modern time. David Gibson risked his home and family to make Toronto better for himself and his neighbours, but while working as a land surveyor, he also disrupted Indigenous ways of life that existed for tens of thousands of years. The site also features an apple orchard, gardens, a public art installation and a large granite wall etched with photos of Gibson descendants.

Apple Tree on Yonge Street
5172 Yonge Street
This out-of-place apple tree in the centre of a plaza on Yonge Street is an enchanting link to the past. Originally planted as part of an apple orchard established by David Gibson, it’s believed to date back to the 1830s. The tree is a Tolman Sweet, a variety of apple tree developed in the northeastern United States in the early 1800s. It continues to produce fruit yearly.

North York Central Library
5120 Yonge Street
North York Central Library is one of Toronto’s busiest libraries, with 1.6 million items borrowed every year and 1.5 million visitors. It is one of two research and reference libraries in the city and holds more than 600,000 items!

Back in 1950, The North York Public Library Association Board (a community organization for library services) was formed and operated a library on the ground floor of North York Memorial Hall, which is located on the west side of Yonge St, south of Park Home Avenue.

In the 50s, the library comprised the location in Memorial Hall, a portable classroom to house the children’s library, and a bookmobile. In 1987, a new North York Central Library –four times larger– replaced the former building. In 1998, the North York Central Library became part of the new Toronto Public Library following municipal amalgamation.

The building is currently undergoing major renovations. The first four floors are open and available and feature a beautiful new wooden staircase a Digital Innovation Hub and the Toronto Public Library’s first fabrication studio, complete with sewing and embroidery machines. The remaining floors, including the Society and Recreation Department, will open when they are completed, which is expected in late 2020.

Birds In Flight at North York Civic Centre
5100 Yonge Street
This building once served as the city hall for the former City of North York. Designed by Adamson Associates Architects, the construction of the building was intended to act as a catalyst for the development of the “”North York City Centre””, a downtown area for the formerly suburban North York. The building received The Governor General’s Medal for Architecture in 1982.

The Birds in Flight ceiling mobile by Canadian artist Micheline Beauchemin was created in 1978. Well-known for her tapestries, Beauchemin worked with a variety of materials including fibres and aluminum. Her works are in collections across the country including the National Gallery of Canada. Beauchemin received numerous awards including the Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts.

Mel Lastman Square
5100 Yonge Street
Mel Lastman Square is a local cultural hub that hosts a number of Toronto’s major annual events including a Canada Day Celebration, Cultura, Korean Harvest Festival, Hispanic Fiesta, Sunday Serenades as well as a weekly farmers’ market. The square features an amphitheatre, reflecting pool/skating rink and a watercourse that runs from the street level to the lower level. It was designed by J. Michael Kirkland and officially opened in 1989. It was named for Mel Lastman, the mayor of North York from 1973 to 1997 and the mayor of Toronto from 1998 to 2003. He is one of the country’s longest serving mayors.

While visiting the square, it is important to acknowledge the 10 people who lost their lives and sixteen injured during the Yonge Street van attack between Finch and Sheppard Avenues on April 23, 2018.

<< Back to StrollTO Home

Explore Willowdale

Now is the time for residents to experience all that tourists have been raving about for years. Discover shops, stops, places and spaces on city main streets. Stay curious, Toronto.

DON’T MISS
BigArtTO
November 4 – 7
6:30pm – 9:30pm
Princess Park Clock Tower

Neighbourhood Stroll: Willowdale West

Willowdale offers plenty of history to be told through its parks and attractions —and an apple tree that’s almost two centuries old! Wander along Yonge Street, Finch Avenue West and Bathurst for a great mix of local shops and restaurants.

Main Streets: Yonge Street, Finch Avenue West and Bathurst Street

Note: Some neighbourhood strolls may cross over into more than one ward.

  1. Stafford Park
    100 Stafford Road
    A 1.7 hectare park near Bathurst Street and Finch Avenue West with pathways that lead to a children’s playground and open green space.

  2. York Cottage
    Hounslow Avenue and Horsham Avenue
    York Cottage was a building that was previously on this site. It was originally constructed in 1850 to house the Johnson Family. The house later became a rural cottage for the Red Cross, and then offices for the Children’s Aid Society. The building was demolished in 1993. The stone gates of the cottage remain at the eastern end of Hounslow Avenue. A plaque commemorates the gates and the former cottage.

  3. Sophie Berg Art Box
    Beecroft Road & Churchill Avenue
    The box showcases observational sketches of Torontonians from all over the city. It represents a true cross-section of Toronto, illustrating its diverse population. When citizens and visitors view the design, they are reminded that Toronto is a home for everyone, and feel welcome and appreciated.

  4. Dempsey Store & Park
    250 Beecroft Road
    The Dempsey Store originally stood on the northwest corner of Yonge Street and Sheppard Avenue. It was built in 1860 by Joseph Shepard II, son of Joseph Shepard who was one of the earliest settlers of York in the 1790s. Joseph Shepard II operated a store that housed the local post office until 1888. It was the first general store in the area. Benjamin Brown purchased the building in 1904 and it was known as Brown’s Store until 1921.

    In the early 1920s, it was sold to George and William Dempsey and came to be known as the Dempsey Brothers Hardware Store. It was a very familiar North York landmark. The store was relocated to this present location in 1996 and is now home to the Shining Through Centre, which provides services to children with autism and their families.

    Along Dempsey Park, several pieces of art are installed along the park’s pathways. This installation is called Timetrack and it reminds visitors of the site’s past as part of the Gibson family farm. Created by Millie Chen and Warren Quigley, the bronze cast artwork appears at irregular intervals on the park’s pathways and shows symbols of the site from the past. For more information, look for the plaque within the park.

  5. Gibson House Museum & Gibson Park
    5172 Yonge Street
    Explore Gibson House Museum, an elegant farmhouse from 1851 owned by the Gibson family. Tours of the museum unravel the history of the land and the heroes, rebels, reformers and storytellers who called Willowdale home, from the 1830s all the way to modern time. David Gibson risked his home and family to make Toronto better for himself and his neighbours, but while working as a land surveyor, he also disrupted Indigenous ways of life that existed for tens of thousands of years. The site also features an apple orchard, gardens, a public art installation and a large granite wall etched with photos of Gibson descendants.

  6. Apple Tree on Yonge Street
    5172 Yonge Street
    This out-of-place apple tree in the centre of a plaza on Yonge Street is an enchanting link to the past. Originally planted as part of an apple orchard established by David Gibson, it’s believed to date back to the 1830s. The tree is a Tolman Sweet, a variety of apple tree developed in the northeastern United States in the early 1800s. It continues to produce fruit yearly.

  7. North York Central Library
    5120 Yonge Street
    North York Central Library is one of Toronto’s busiest libraries, with 1.6 million items borrowed every year and 1.5 million visitors. It is one of two research and reference libraries in the city and holds more than 600,000 items!

    Back in 1950, The North York Public Library Association Board (a community organization for library services) was formed and operated a library on the ground floor of North York Memorial Hall, which is located on the west side of Yonge St, south of Park Home Avenue.

    In the 50s, the library comprised the location in Memorial Hall, a portable classroom to house the children’s library, and a bookmobile. In 1987, a new North York Central Library –four times larger– replaced the former building. In 1998, the North York Central Library became part of the new Toronto Public Library following municipal amalgamation.

    The building is currently undergoing major renovations. The first four floors are open and available and feature a beautiful new wooden staircase a Digital Innovation Hub and the Toronto Public Library’s first fabrication studio, complete with sewing and embroidery machines. The remaining floors, including the Society and Recreation Department, will open when they are completed, which is expected in late 2020.

  8. Birds In Flight at North York Civic Centre
    5100 Yonge Street
    This building once served as the city hall for the former City of North York. Designed by Adamson Associates Architects, the construction of the building was intended to act as a catalyst for the development of the “”North York City Centre””, a downtown area for the formerly suburban North York. The building received The Governor General’s Medal for Architecture in 1982.

    The Birds in Flight ceiling mobile by Canadian artist Micheline Beauchemin was created in 1978. Well-known for her tapestries, Beauchemin worked with a variety of materials including fibres and aluminum. Her works are in collections across the country including the National Gallery of Canada. Beauchemin received numerous awards including the Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts.

  9. Mel Lastman Square
    5100 Yonge Street
    Mel Lastman Square is a local cultural hub that hosts a number of Toronto’s major annual events including a Canada Day Celebration, Cultura, Korean Harvest Festival, Hispanic Fiesta, Sunday Serenades as well as a weekly farmers’ market. The square features an amphitheatre, reflecting pool/skating rink and a watercourse that runs from the street level to the lower level. It was designed by J. Michael Kirkland and officially opened in 1989. It was named for Mel Lastman, the mayor of North York from 1973 to 1997 and the mayor of Toronto from 1998 to 2003. He is one of the country’s longest serving mayors.

    While visiting the square, it is important to acknowledge the 10 people who lost their lives and sixteen injured during the Yonge Street van attack between Finch and Sheppard Avenues on April 23, 2018.

Accessibility information: All points of interest are visible from the street, except for Birds in Flight at North York Civic Centre. North York Civic Centre’s north and south entrances on the ground floor are accessible. Paved pathways run through Stafford Park.